• Accessibility A A A
  • Google Translate



Proposed merger of the eight North West London Clinical Commissioning Groups

The eight NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) in North West London have put forward a proposal to merge into a single CCG. The eight CCGs are: Brent, Central London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow and West London.

The eight CCGs have been discussing the proposal of a merger for over a year, with plans now in place for this to take effect in April 2021. Engagement with the public took place last year and the CCGs will be discussing further with local people and organisations over the next six weeks. Our next steps will be to consult with the local councils in the area, all eight CCG governing bodies and local GP members. If the CCGs and GPs approve the proposal, we will send an application to NHS England and Improvement at the end of September 2020.  

Jo Ohlson, Accountable Officer for the North West London CCGs said: 

“All eight CCG governing bodies agreed last year that this was the right direction of travel. Going forward we will retain a focus on managing key relationships locally, working closely with our GPs, hospitals, local councils, Healthwatch and voluntary organisations.”

“Each borough will continue to have its own team to ensure that the right services are provided for local needs. We have learned a great deal from the Covid-19 pandemic, notably about how we function better as one organisation as joint working across all parts of the NHS, in partnership with social care, has been critical to our response.” 

The proposed merger aligns to the NHS Long Term Plan, to achieve our vision, we need to have one organisation buying and commissioning services for all in North West London – this means moving to a single CCG.


Notes to Editors
Read the case for change and frequently asked questions for the proposed CCG merger.

For further information contact: 
Rory Hegarty, Director of Communications and Engagement 07852 435637; rory.hegarty@nhs.net
Press Office: nwlccgs.media@nhs.net